Unreleased Photos, Behind The Scenes & Random Thoughts

Mrs. Fancy Is Back!!!

I’m so happy that after a 3-4 year hiatus I finally reconnected with my beautiful model friend Dominique. She’s so sweet and naturally beautiful I decided to post one of our shots without any editing. Posting unedited shots is not something that I do often, mainly because most of my clients really don’t like it. I know that most people are influenced by the unrealistic standards of beauty that we’ve all been conditioned to accept but, I’ve personally never been a huge fan of perfectly airbrushed images. The truth is, I only do it because I know clients and companies like a certain “polished” look to their photographs. That’s fine, but I love the details and textures of human skin and hair.

We as photographers spend thousands of dollars on high end cameras/lenses that have the ability to exact as much detail as possible, so why would we want to eliminate all of that wonderful information we capture?! In recent years I’ve cut back drastically on the amount of editing I do to my images, even to the point of losing some clients and turning fans of overly airbrushed images away from hiring me. Don’t get me wrong, when done right those images can be flawless and gorgeous, but in the real world nothing is perfect and I like it that way.

I love imperfections. It means that we’re human. It means I’m capturing exactly what was in front of my camera. So with all this being said, I encourage my clients more and more to accept themselves as they are, and to scale back on the over-edited, “perfect” look of the past decade or more. Besides, when you’re this naturally beautiful you don’t need photoshop! 😉

Dominique Grad HS 1 blog

Leave a Reply

