Unreleased Photos, Behind The Scenes & Random Thoughts

Accidental Patriot

This photograph was taken completely by accident! This all occurred while I was out shooting on this past Veterans Day. I accidentally pressed the shutter of my main camera while switching to my secondary camera. I didn’t even realize I had taken this picture until I returned home to review the images on the computer. After seeing the shot I realized that although it was all wrong from a concious photographic point of view, it was still something about it that I really liked. So while deleting all the shots I deemed “bad” or “unusable” something about this shot forced me to keep it. I spoke briefly yesterday about the importance of carefully reviewing shots before deleting them, or keeping some of the bad images because you might end up liking them later on. This was a case of not knowing I had taken a shot, and under normal circumstances would consider it a bad shot, but yet finding myself drawn to it for some reason? Maybe because it’s not technically perfect? Maybe because, despite being an accident there’s still enough of a story in the frame to warrant a glance or two? Who knows? Whatever the reason is I like it enough to want to share it with everyone here. Some may see the value of it the same way I did, and some won’t, but, isn’t that what photography is all about anyway? You decide what appeals to you!

Accidental Patriotism

Leave a Reply

